Outside our office window is a huge pine tree. A bright red cardinal and his family nested there. We all enjoyed watching them, so he became our mascot. The website is named after that beautiful red cardinal that worked so hard for his family. The red cardinal in a coat with a briefcase is TheWindyCityFundRaiser.com. Although the site by that name is owned by Creative Fundraising Ideas, Inc., no one owns that cardinal and his family. We like it that way. So when you have a question, don’t just contact just ANY one. Check with THEWindyCityFundRaiser.com.
What are the ingredients of the Legendary Pies?
“All of our pies contain wheat, soy, milk, and eggs. They are manufactured in a facility that produces peanut and tree nut products and may contain traces.” All of our pies are Kosher Certified.
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Ingredients:
Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour With Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Rhubarb, Strawberries, Sugar, Vegetable Oil (Palm, Soybean, Citric Acid), Water, Modified Food Starch, Corn Syrup, Salt, Butter (Cream, Salt), Dextrose, Stabilizer (Corn Starch, Dextrose, Sugar, Guar and Cellulose Gums, Agar), Annatto and Termeric as Color, Calcium Propionate and Sodium Benzoate to Retard Spoilage, Cellulose Gum, Artificial Flavor, Nonfat Dry Milk (Nonfat Dry Milk, Lactose, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D), Red Color (Red 40), Xanthan Gum.
What does it mean to be Certified Peanut Free?
Do you know anyone allergic to peanuts? They are the most common food allergy. They affect more than 3,000,000 Americans, and 1.5% of children. Children with peanut allergies more than tripled in the first decade of this century.
The only sure treatment is to avoid all traces of peanuts. Severe allergic reactions – even life-threatening risks – have prompted some schools and organizations to ban anything contaminated with peanuts. PEANUT-FREE zones need peanut-free products. This includes any product that warns it “may contain” or “may contain traces of” peanut.
Consumers should be aware that cross-contamination can occur through the transfer of an ingredient to a product that does not normally contain that ingredient. Only products that are labeled “peanut free” can truly make the claim that their products have been manufactured and packaged in a peanut free facility.
All items marked with the peanut-free logo are manufactured in a peanut-free zone. This area is completely closed off from the rest of the plant, with its own manufacturing equipment.
The peanut-free zone is restricted to authorized personnel only, and its employees only work in that zone. They have no access to the regular factory. They arrive in their regular street clothes, but change into their work clothes, shoes, hair nets, and gloves. Their lunch boxes are inspected.
We are acutely aware of the dangers of peanut allergies, particularly in children. Our staff is also informed of the potential dangers. Samples of each production lot are analyzed for traces of peanuts.
Our chocolate bars have been certified peanut-free since 2000. They are regularly inspected by government agencies. Although nobody can claim zero risk of cross-contamination, we know that it is well-controlled beginning with the manufacturing process until the day it is shipped to our customers.